☆ ACT (acceptance and commitment therapy) ☆

09/08/2017

I wrote this post a few months ago, but it was still a bit raw, so I put it off for a while and saved as a draft. Please don’t leave any negative comment as my blog is here to help share experiences and hopefully create positivity. First of all a disclaimer that my experience will not be the same as everybody’s, and I am not telling you all to go out and join this therapy course I am just hoping to share an insight and hopefully help some people out there. Also ‘Therapy’ is not a dirty word. ☀

I went on a six week course which  2 hours for six Mondays. On this course we looked at hooks. Main points that try to hold us back and how we can try to let go, not erase them just let them be there but move forward with our lives still.☀

I thought I would hate group sessions but actually they helped me the most, being able to share experiences and really connect with people was amazing and was really a turning point for me. Going to these groups opened my eyes and now most of the time I can catch the negative thought or allow it to remain but not cloud me.☀

Another key feature of ACT is distancing yourself from thoughts that are not helpful. For example if you have the thought ‘ I am useless’ try to train yourself to say ‘ I am having that thought’ or ‘ Thank you brain’. We have between 125,000 – 150,000 thoughts a day, so its not surprising somethings our brain gets things wrong. I am not saying it is going to be easy, because it won’t be but what I am saying is there’s nothing wrong with trying.☀

So I guess what I am trying to say is if you need help, just ask for it. Get support from family, friends or professionals. I struggled for a long time being ashamed, wanting to do things on my own, wasting peoples time. But You are valid and worth everything. I know the first step is always difficult and most daunting but it will be worth it.☀

IMG_6734

Thank you to anyone who has read this, I hope this can help anyone.☀

Let me know if you have had any therapy or what you have found helpful.☀

Thank you for reading  ❀❀❀

Leave a Reply

